Motorhome To Caravan - Any Advice Please?

Blackhart

Hello

SWMBO and I have been motorhoming for the past two years but are now set to purchase our first caravan. We enjoyed the freedom that the motorhome gave us for our 'road trips' but now wish to rationalise our 'fleet' of four vehicles down to two, so we reckon a caravan to be towed by our Mitsubishi Barbarian will fit the bill.

From an earlier question on here I'm happpy that the set up time (sans awning) will be a bit longer than with the motorhome but will still be acceptable for an overnight stop. I accept that we will change the way we do our trips slightly but are now looking forward to be able to park up for a couple or three days and use the Barbarian to get out and about locally.

I was wondering if anyone else on this forum had made the move from mtorhome to caravan and what their experiences were?

Thanks.

BH

Having done the caravan thing in 2013 (short lived), then Swift Kontiki 669 in 2014 for 2. 5 years and now back to a caravan, here's a snippet of our take on things http://www. caravantalk. co. uk/community/topic/117976-a-few-mountain-pass-pics/?p=1378360

Edited by Pebble

2019 Adria Adora Thames

We had a caravan, then changed to a motorhome, ended up towing a car on a A frame behind, in the end we changed back to a caravan so much more space

• Like 2

2023 Suzuki Across Hybrid and 2016 Swift Conqueror 480 HT

As you have realised, having a caravan gives you the freedom to use the car to get out and about without having an extra car to tow, insure & maintain.

Those motorhomes, sure do stop you parking in most car parks!

Bailey Orion News & Information - 

Hello

SWMBO and I have been motorhoming for the past two years but are now set to purchase our first caravan. We enjoyed the freedom that the motorhome gave us for our 'road trips' but now wish to rationalise our 'fleet' of four vehicles down to two, so we reckon a caravan to be towed by our Mitsubishi Barbarian will fit the bill.