Newbie - Nuts And Bolts Talk

RubiconCSL

First of all - hello. Total caravan newbie here. We've bought a late 80s caravan, which will need a bit of tarting up. I've already had to take a steady off, dismantle it and order a new nut for it. So far, quite straight forward. I'm sure there will be lots of fun in the coming months!

Anyway. My first question is regarding tools. I've got a reasonable workshop and quite a few tools collected over the years. But, as is the norm, some have seen better days, some have gone walk about and I guess, there will be some I'm going to need, that I've never owned.

First on the list, having got that steady off, is spanners/sockets: what would be a good set of sizes to make sure I've got? I've been looking at getting a socket set and quite like the Halfords professional sets. However, there are a number of different sets, with all manner of sizes and options with them. So, rather than go off and buy a lovely shiny set of tools, 90% of which I'll never use, what would you consider to be standard/normal sizes I'm likely to need for nuts etc? I'm guessing there will be 3 or 4 sizes that will cover most things; maybe 10mm, 12mm, 17mm - but are there any general sizes that cover most things? That will make the choice of socket set I need a LOT easier to whittle down.

Thanks in advance.

Buy ring and open ended spanners 8mm - 24mm and their equivalent in AF sizes.

I actually have one set which covers these in a tool roll. Buy the best you can they

will last a lifetime. The same size ranges apply to sockets as well.

There will be bucket loads of advice to follow but a digital multimeter is very useful.

I would be inclined to buy two socket sets. One set with 1/2" drive from 10mm-24mm (or bigger if available) and a second set covering maybe 4-13mm with 1/2" and possibly 3/8" drives. The latter will likely come with blade, Pozi, and Torx screw adapters as well.